Home / News / South Africa: Parliament reveals name of slain MP

South Africa: Parliament reveals name of slain MP

The National Assembly of South Africa has named the African National Congress (ANC) member of Parliament who was killed in a car accident outside Paarl as Timothy Khoza from Mpumalanga.

According to the House said the identity of the deceased MP would be released once the family had been informed.

It named those who were injured as Nomalungelo Gina of the ANC, Ian Ollis of the DA, and Cynthia Majeke of the UDM.

“The three members are currently receiving care at the Paarl Medi-Clinic.”

ANC deputy chief whip Doris Dlakude was on her way to Paarl to identify the MP who died on the scene and to visit those in hospital.

Speaker Baleka Mbete’s office said the MPs were travelling to Paarl on Wednesday morning as part of an oversight visit to schools in the area when their car overturned.

“Parliament has just learned with shock and devastation that four members of parliament in the National Assembly belonging to the portfolio committee on basic education have been involved in a tragic car accident near Paarl in Cape Town this morning,” spokesperson Moloto Mothapo said.

“One of the MPs passed away at the scene. The three other MPs are seriously injured and are receiving emergency medical attention.”

Source: The Citizen 

About Gily Sparks

Check Also

Ghana: Parliament’s recall may cost half a million Ghana cedis

Checks by the Parliamentary News Africa (PNAfrica) indicates that it may cost the tax payer ...

Translate »