Home / Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone

Parliament name : Parliament

Structure of parliament : Unicameral

Dates of election / renewal (from/to): 17 November 2012

Purpose of elections : President Ernest Bai Koroma’s All People’s Congress (APC) remained the largest party in parliament, taking 67 of the 112 directly-elected seats. During the campaign, it promised to consolidate stability by improving infrastructure, agriculture and foreign relations.

The rival Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP) took 42 seats, pledging to work for development, infrastructure, economy and governance.

Mr. Koroma was re-elected in the presidential elections and sworn in for a second term on 23 November

Date of previous elections: 11 August 2007

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 25 September 2012

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: November 2017

Number of seats at stake: 112 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 586 (548 men, 38 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 6.5%

Number of parties contesting the election: 10

Number of parties winning seats: 2

Alternation of power: No

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: All People’s Congress (APC)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 7 December 2012

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Abel Nathaniel Stronge (APC)

Distribution of seats according to sex : Men-106    Women-15   Percent of women – 12.40%


Source : www.ipu.org

Translate »