The Ministry of Energy has finally inaugurated the Ministerial Advisory Board to investigate the circumstances that led to the release of 5 million litres of off-sec fuel from the Accra Plains Depot of the Bulk Oil Storage and Transportation Company (BOST); and the subsequent evacuation of a total of 471,000 litres of the said product to Zup Oil.

The minority caucus in parliament on Tuesday at a press conference demanded the immediate interdiction of the BOST Managing Director, Mr. Alfred Obeng Boateng, for causing financial loss to the state.

According to the minority caucus, as a result of the corrupt action of the BOST MD, the state has lost GHS14.25 million to an individual(s); and demanded its retrieval by surcharging the offending officials at BOST in line with the recent Supreme Court decision.

The minority noted that this whole saga started with the sale of contaminated fuel product to the tune of five million litres to a company known as Movenpiina by Mr. Boateng, the MD of BOST, under very dubious and bizarre circumstances.

” Information available before us indicates the Managing Director took a decision to grant to Movenpiina Co. an Open-Credit sales arrangement against all the advice from his own staff. This means that the company bought the products without paying for it and in turn sold the products to a third-party Company Zupoil at 30% higher. This smacks of high level corruption,” the minority caucus alleged.

The setting up of the Ministerial Advisory Board is in line with the Civil Service Act 1993 (PNDCL 327) section 39 which stipulates that a Ministerial Advisory Board shall be established in every Ministry.

The functions of the board as stated in Section 40 of the Act are as follows: to promote constant interaction between the Ministry and the users of its services; and to advise the Minister on adjustments in policy directions, planning objectives and operational strategies.

In line with this provision, the Ministerial Advisory Board of the Ministry of Energy has been constituted as follows: Hon Boakye Agyarko, Energy Minister, Chairman; Hon Joseph Cudjoe, Deputy Energy Minister in charge of finance and infrastructure, member; Prof. Thomas Akabzaa, Chief Director, Ministry of Energy, member; Dr. K.K. Sarpong, CEO, GNPC, member; Ing. William Amuna, CEO, GRIDCO, member; Mr. Theophilus Ahwireng, CEO, Petroleum Commission, member; Mr. Kwaku Agyeman-Duah, CEO, Association of Oil Marketing Companies, member; Nana Addo Tetedo, President, Electrical Contractors Association, member; Mr.Senyo Hosi, CEO, Chamber of Bulk Oil Distributors, member; and Mr. Seth Osei-Agyen, Director of Finance and Administration, Ministry of Energy, member.

Story by Gilbert Borketey Boyefio

About Gilbert Boyefio

Check Also

Ghana: Gov’t spent GH₵10m to procure insecticides to fight FAW

Government has so far expended about GH₵10m on insecticides procurement in a bid to combat ...

Translate »