Home / Ghana


Parliament name : Parliament of Ghana

Structure of parliament : Unicameral

Dates of election / renewal (from/to): 7 December 2016

Purpose of elections : The New Patriotic Party (NPP), led by Mr. Nana Akufo-Addo, won both the parliamentary and presidential elections, thereby regaining power after eight years in opposition. President John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), who was seeking a second term in office, conceded defeat, heralding another peaceful transmission of power in Ghana. The 2016 elections were held amid an economic slowdown, triggered by a fall in the value of the country’s commodity exports, such as gold, oil and cocoa. During the election campaign, the major parties focused on the economy, promising to create more jobs, provide better infrastructure and development projects.

Date of previous elections: 7 December 2012

Date of dissolution of the outgoing legislature: 6 January 2017

Timing of election: Upon normal expiry

Expected date of next elections: December 2020

Number of seats at stake: 275 (full renewal)

Number of candidates: 1,158 (1,021 men, 137 women)

Percentage of women candidates: 11.8%

Number of parties winning seats: 2

Alternation of power: Yes

Number of parties in government: 1

Names of parties in government: New Patriotic Party (NPP)

Date of the first session of the new parliament: 7 January 2017

Name of the new Speaker: Mr. Mike Aaron Ocquaye (New Patriotic Party, NPP)


Distribution of seats : Men : 240
Women : 35
Percent of women : 12.73%

Note: After a general election, the majority party nominates the Speaker in consultation with the other parties. Mr. Aaron Mike Ocquaye is not a Member of Parliament and will not become a Member through being elected Speaker. Mr. Ocquaye replaced Mr. Edward Doe Adjaho, who was a Member of Parliament before becoming Speaker.


Source : www.ipu.org

Translate »