Home / Political


Kenyan opposition boycotts new parliament

Opposition MPs in Kenya have boycotted the opening of the new parliament to protest against President Uhuru Kenyatta’s decision to address it after a court annulled his election win. They say that parliament should not have been convened until after the election re-run slated for 17 October. The MPs instead ...

Read More »

South Africa’s Zuma gets rowdy reception in parliament

CAPE TOWN  – South African President Jacob Zuma’s first appearance in parliament since he survived a no-confidence move three weeks ago led to rowdy scenes on Thursday in which several opposition lawmakers were ordered out of the chamber. The 75-year-old Zuma, whose eight years in office have been tarnished by ...

Read More »

Namibia: Kooper Rreplaces Swartbooi in Parliament

Katima Mulilo — President Hage Geingob has appointed 39-year-old Paula Kooper to the National Assembly to replace Bernard Swartbooi on the Swapo Party list. Geingob made the announcement at the opening of the 6th Swapo Party Youth League (SPYL) congress in Katima Mulilo yesterday. Kooper will now go to parliament ...

Read More »

Angola electoral system: How parliament determines the president

Angolans have directly voted for president only once – in 1992 when multi-party politics was introduced. In 1992, separate ballots were cast for legislators and for president. Voters have since elected the president indirectly based on parliamentary majority. Parliamentary elections in 2008 was won by the ruling MPLA whose leader ...

Read More »

Kenya: Wamatangi joins race for Senate deputy Speaker’s seat

Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi, who was re-elected in the August 8 elections, has joined the race for Senate Deputy Speaker’s seat as lobbying for leadership positions in Parliament intensified. Mr Wamatangi now joins his Murang’a counterpart Irungu Kang’ata and Nakuru Senator-elect Susan Kihika as the possible replacements of Mr Kembi ...

Read More »

Kenya: 9 journalists wins parliamentary seat

Nine journalists won various seats in last week’s General Election with one of them clinching the coveted county governorship. Two of them will sit in the Senate while six other became woman representatives and Members of the National Assembly. Former Mediamax Network chairman Granton Samboja is the incoming Taita-Taveta governor ...

Read More »

Kenya: 23-Year-Old student wins MP seat

A 23-year-old independent candidate has been declared the  next Igembe South MP. Mr John Paul Mwirigi, a Bachelor of Education student at Mt Kenya University won after garnering 18, 867 against Jubilee’s Rufus Miriti, who had 15, 411 votes. Other candidates, who were seasoned politicians include Mwenda Mzalendo (7,695), Kubai ...

Read More »
Translate »